Steeler blog: Live from our Shipyard X

Steeler 65S wins European Powerboat of the Year award 2019 at Flagship Night in Düsseldorf

19/01/19

Ocean Camp exploring the Med which results in marvelous photographs.

17/10/18

Sea-trials 65 S Flyfish. More coming soon...

26/09/18

Today we delivered the Steeler Explorer 50 Pilothouse “Caledonia” to its owners.

17/09/18

Caledonia is fully equipped for longer journeys at sea and she is currently en route to Kiel, Germany from where she will mostly explore the Baltic Sea. Trips along the German Coast, Denmark, Sweden and Norway are scheduled for her and most likely other destinations will follow.

We want to thank the owners for a wonderful construction period in which we could demonstrate that we are truly capable of fulfilling their personal wishes and building the yacht of their dreams.

First 43S-design hull almost completed. What a beauty.

30/08/18

Flyfish 65 reaches highest point!

22/08/18

Today the impressive mast was placed on the Flyfish 65 S-design, completing her impressive looks.

Flyfish 65 S-design nearing completion

21/08/18

Launch of 41 S-design with “Flying Chairs”

17/08/18

Steeler Yachts launched a very special edition of the Steeler 41 S-design this week! Together with the owner, the Steeler design team developed “Flying Chairs” for a Flybridge experience in a “coupe” design motoryacht. In combination with a second steering position mounted on the roof and a bimini top, the concept allows the owner and his wife to enjoy their cruises in the open air!  

The same comfortable chairs,  upholstered in luxurious leather, can also be used in the salon or in the cockpit.  

Perfect example of a project that reflects our reason for being … if you can dream it … we love to make it!  

Please note the happy faces on the photos ..  

More pictures of 41 S-design “Sunray” on our website soon.

Rotterdam – Gibraltar... on one fuel tank?
Yes, Steeler S-design can!

17/08/18

Our claim that our patented S-design is far superior in terms of fuel efficiency has already been proven but this is a special milestone for our shipyard : When 59 S-design “Ocean Camp” reached Gibraltar last week after travelling 1250 nautical miles, her total fuel consumption had been 3325 liters, 83 % of her total fuel capacity of 4000 ltrs. This translates to 2.66 liters per nautical mile during a trip that included a crossing of the Biscay Gulf and 7 Beaufort wind with 4 meter waves heading down from the southwest coast of the UK.

Apart from the low fuel consumption, the NG59 impressed her owners on their maidentrip with cruising in utmost stability and comfort. The pictures on our website of a relaxed captain in the middle of a jungle of waves speak for themselves.

In the meantime, the ‘Ocean Camp’ has reached Ibiza on her trip from Amsterdam to the Cannes Yachting Festival.

The Cannes Yachting Festival starts September 11th upto the 16th. Please visit Ocean Camp at stand PAN028!

Our “First Star” finally touched base in homeport Seattle.

02/08/18

After a journey crossing the Atlantic, through the Panama Canal and cruising the pacific on a RO-RO transport vessel, “First Star” arrived on time.

The boat will undergo beautiful journeys in Puget Sound and other surrounding waters, more pictures will follow soon!

Ocean Camp rocking the waves

20/07/18

in Dover Strait and experiencing thrilling ‘Meets & Greets’with dolphins and whales!

Launch 43 S-design with twin Yanmar 110 PS ...

20/07/18

almost ready for efficient, stable and ‘sprayless’ cruising on the MED!

Launch 52 S “Blue Print”

18/07/18

35 knots with twin Cummins QSB 6.7 ltr with Zeus pods .. spectacular performance and so easy to manoeuvre. Further photo’s soon!

65 S “Li-Janne” leaving IJmuiden..

18/07/18

60 tonnes steel @ 14 knots with just twin 410’s ... S-design hull .. QED!

Courtesy visit to May Lillian, moored in Darthaven

12/07/18

together with Michael Miller from Imperial Motoryachts. Great athmosphere, great place to visit. Big thanks to Ian for his hospitality and being the local Steeler ambassador!

Steeler 59 S ‘Ocean Camp’

09/07/18

Crossing Gulf of Biscay on her way to the Cannes Yachting Festival, 11-16 September 2018.
Bon Voyage!

Steeler Yachts “First Star” en route towards Seattle, Washington.

The first Steeler NG40 should arrive in the United States approximately around the 31st of July. We are very happy with this first delivery to the United States and hopefully the owners will make beautiful trips with her in the waters surrounding Seattle!

57 S-line May Lilian

13/06/18

57 S-line May Lilian gespot bij Weymouth UK

NG40 First Star

12/06/18

Tested by Dag Pike, Time Inc journalist testing the First Star. At age 85 he is working on his 53rd book.. this time on Hull design

59 S-line ‘Ocean Camp’

12/06/18

59 S-line ‘Ocean Camp’ moored at destination Copenhagen
MORE INFO? X

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

““But the question remained of what to do about the wheelchair access, which was ultimately the most important factor. And this is precisely where the Steeler team showed what they're best at: solutions and a customer-oriented approach.” ”

~ Owner NG 65 S ‘Li-Janne’

As born and bred residents of Urk (a former island in the Zuiderzee) we are literally and figuratively connected to the water in all its elements. I grew up in a fishing family as the youngest son, so that water and adventure were ingrained in me at an early age and I never let them go.

There came a time when I started to feel the itch again, and we decided to go on a family boating holiday in 2014. During this summer holiday our family experienced the freedom of the water and the adventure that every day brings. That stayed with us, so we decided to go in search of a yacht of our own. And that's where it all begins... So many shapes and sizes, how to find the right yacht for us given the fact that we've got some special requirements... The yacht had to be robust, reliable, safe and wheelchair accessible for our youngest daughter.

We started the search online, but our requirements meant that all traditional yacht builders were unable to help us because they think in terms of concepts and options lists. We were looking for innovation, and that's how we ended up at Steeler Yachts. This was a new player in the motorboat market with a Survey 55 for sale, which met many of our requirements. But the question remained of what to do about the wheelchair access, which was ultimately the most important factor. And this is precisely where the Steeler team showed what they're best at: solutions and a customer-oriented approach. It wasn't long before the deal had been closed and the modifications completed. Two gates in the railing, a wheelchair lift to the dinette tucked away in the floor and, last but not least, a shower trolley. Drastic modifications, but here we once again saw evidence of innovation at its best.

And we've been enjoying it with our whole family since 2015. After two seasons it was clear: a life on the water was just the thing for our family. But the question was whether we'd continue with our current yacht or have a new one built that incorporated all of our wishes and requirements from the drawing board stage onwards. It didn't take long to decide: a new yacht! But what was the next step? Once again, there were plenty of shipyards to choose from, with the one yacht looking better than the other, but who could make the difference and best understood our needs? That's right, the Steeler team!

That's what led up to the order for the construction of a new NG 65 S line "Li-Janne" being placed in 2016. Steeler's and our flagship!
READ MORE

“The most convincing proof of that is that we have now had our second boat built by Steeler!”

~ Alfred and Annemarie, NG43 Offshore ‘Don Alfredo’

The design and implementation were decisive factors for us from the start in 2012 when we decided to choose Steeler. During construction, we were impressed time and again with the friendliness and reliability of the employees at the Steeler shipyard. The most convincing proof of that is that we have now had our second boat built by Steeler!!
READ MORE

“From our first appointment in Steenwijk to the day of completion, our boat was built in 10 months”

~ Jan and Yvonne, NG43 Offshore ‘Liberty’

We wanted to have a fast-moving ship with also a practical layout. We first saw Steeler Yachts at the Hiswa in Amsterdam. It caught our eye with its beautifully sleek lines and its colour! We have had a great experience with the people at Steeler. We were satisfied with the design and execution. Very nice people who helped us with the layout and interior! From our first appointment in Steenwijk to the day of completion, our boat was built in 10 months. Everything was done smoothly and to schedule as agreed

And after that .. from the moment when we left the shipyard, simply enjoyment and more enjoyment. Our maidentrip was with friends and family to Sail Amsterdam, which was an unforgettable experience!
READ MORE

“we were given the chance to make on-site additions to our wish list.”

~ Evert-Jan and Tineke, NG40 ‘n Moment

It was really an easy choice at the time, as this boat fulfilled all our wishes: the outdoor feeling, the large, open sliding roof and awning over the stern cabin, and of course the design and beautiful curves that make this vessel a real trend-setter

Our first experience and contact was with Isabel, and it was such a good feeling that we thought: this is where we’re going to buy our boat. We were always welcomed during construction, to our surprise really, and we were kept informed of the planning. Even more importantly, we were given the chance to make on-site additions to our wish list. We had a very special experience with Hans Webbink: our boat was not finished yet, and Hans knew that my brother, who was seriously ill, would love to see the boat at our home in Naarden.

Hans did everything he could to achieve that, even with a plan to bring a similar boat to Naarden, but unfortunately it was too late. Apart from the Steeler management we were impressed with all the competent, professional employees at the shipyard, not only during construction but after completion as well. Any issues were quickly, professionally resolved, to the great credit of this shipyard.

The first newsletter about the Steeler NG 40 said that people watching on the quays got stiff necks from following the boat even after it had passed. And we shared their experience entirely. We were super proud when people at the marina were admiring our boat, and we were glad to allow them to admire its interior as well. We were proud being able to share our enjoyment of our Steeler!
READ MORE

“After two boating seasons, we have nothing but praise for the shipyard that built this beautiful ship for us.”

~ Family Bolkestein, NG40 ‘Linea’

We were at the HISWA te Water boating fair with friends to look at a certain boat, as we passed the Steeler stand and were pleasantly surprised by the boats on display.

Once inside, we immediately had them make a quote which, after some weeks of bargaining, became an order.

During the entire construction process we were given the opportunity to express our wishes, and we look back on the whole period with good feelings and great confidence in the shipyard and staff.

After completion, the shipyard continued to this day to actively assist and care for our boat and crew. We think this is a beautiful ship, and we are not the only ones, because people on the quay, harbour masters and bridge masters are of the same opinion. We are getting compliments all the time. After two boating seasons, we have nothing but praise for the shipyard that built this beautiful ship for us.
Congratulations!
READ MORE

“In spite of all our wishesand changes, there were no surprises in terms of the surcharge, which was explained to us during meetings in a very transparent, detailed manner.”

~ Gerrit and Wilma, NG40 ‘Baantje’

We were looking for a sleek, modern yacht for which we could design the interior ourselves. In light of past contacts and our preferences, it was an easy choice to go for Steeler, also because of the value for money. We were also very impressed with the short lines of communication and the no-nonsense attitude we found at Steeler.

We wanted to have a boat where a cooking and living area could be constructed at a single level. In addition we wanted to have 5 fixed beds. After talking to Hans, Isabel and Niels a few times, we were certain that our wishes could be fulfilled. They were all very enthusiastic, and they contributed lots of ideas to create the new boat in such a way that all of our wishes could be realised. Peter, who is Steeler's in-house interior builder, also considered it a great challenge to design a Steeler NG40 'Family': we all relied on him to be able to make some changes even during construction, for instance an oak kitchen.

In spite of all our wishes and changes, there were no surprises in terms of the surcharge, which was explained to us during meetings in a very transparent, detailed manner.

The end result: the boat that we always wanted but never thought we would ever get! During the past season we spent many weekends and even the summer holiday on 'Baantje', and we had lots of boating fun together with our friends and family. At first the boat is a very big place, and you need to get used to the size and behaviour of the boat, but practice makes perfect! We hope to continue to enjoy our boat for many years, and we are very happy that we will always be welcomed by Steeler if we have any questions.
READ MORE

“We were very happy with being able to look at the skeleton interior fittings at the shipyard.”

~ Fam. Heitmann, ‘Katharina von Raa’ NG40

I was looking on the Internet for a motor boat with open cockpit. I found 4 motor boats that I liked and therefore shortlisted. As the HISWA was being held in Amsterdam at the time, I made appointments with the shipyards for viewings. We didn't like these 4 vessels either because of their hull designs or because they were from companies who chartered out the boats but did not construct them and were simply brokers.

So at the HISWA we went from one motor boat to the next. All boats had something we didn't like. But this was never an obstacle for the salespeople: as we heard time and again: 'No problem, we'll change that, we'll fix that'. After having looked at all interesting boats, we went for a coffee to consider our decision. Our decision was: let's go to the harbour, seek out the boat that we do like and go on board. We didn't need to search for long in the harbour: we decided right away to choose the Steeler NG 40.

We went on board and immediately felt great there. We were most warmly welcomed by their friendly salespeople and - which was very important to us - they all spoke perfect German. The Steeler crew understood us, and we understood the Steeler crew. Our ideas and preferences were taken up very well by Niels and Peter, both of whom understood our thoughts very well.

We made an appointment in Steenwijk, where we put our ideas on paper once again, and quickly came to an agreement since we really wanted to have the Steeler boat. As our ideas and preferences had been carefully implemented on paper, we now needed to monitor and audit the construction process of our Steeler. Niels always informed us by email or phone about each stage of construction. We were informed immediately of any improvements and proposals during construction, and we could discuss these with the shipyard to see if we were happy with their proposals. As Steeler boats are not mass-produced but individually unique boats, new and improved ideas were circulated all the time.

We were very happy with being able to look at the skeleton interior fittings at the shipyard. Having the fittings before our eyes at a 1:1 scale enabled us to better understand everything we had previously seen on the drawings, so there were no problems making a few changes here and there.

Our first contact with the Steeler team was in Amsterdam. They were all very sympathic and friendly from the very first day, always ready with a smile and eager to act on our wishes. Since we only speak basic English it was a great thing for us that they all spoke perfect German. Niels and Peter were always professional contacts who knew their job. We can only congratulate the Steeler shipyard for having these two people on board.

Our wish was to have a motor boat that we could use to sail to Helgoland, into the Wadden Sea, and to Berlin.

It had to be seaworthy for the coastal waters, stand on the mudflat (Steeler made custom bilge keels for us to achieve that) and it shouldn't be too high so we could easily pass under bridges. All of these features are united in the Steeler NG40.

Since the Elbe river has a 5 nautical mile current at times, and unpleasant waves may arise when sailing against the current in windy weather, the vessel should have adequate engine power. On trips to Helgoland or on the Baltic it always felt good to have enough horsepower available.

When we sail the NG40 offshore on rough seas there is no doubt in our mind and we don’t see any risks due to the fact that she is very comfortable in these rough circumstances. We were very often complimented with our beautiful boat We are proud and happy to own a Steeler.

Niels Tuininga, general manager from Steeler Yachts: The ‘Katharina von Raa’ is being sailed under the most extreme sea conditions in which a category B certified yacht can be utilised. The feedback Steeler Yachts received from the Heitmann family, despite the fact that the NG40 is compatible with CE category B, resulted in modifications which provide even more comfort and safety at high seas. For Steeler Yachts the ‘Katharina von Raa’ contributes in further developing our yachts for which we are grateful to the Heitmann family for sharing their experiences.
READ MORE

“From the day of completion of our Steeler NG 40 we have been getting countless admiring looks and compliments.”

~ Dick and Anja, NG40 ‘Imagine’

We chose the Steeler NG since we fell in love with the design and the appeal of the boat. Other high-quality boats are undoubtedly on offer in this price segment, but the appearance of the Steeler NG made the difference.

We had years of boating experience on a somewhat smaller vessel, which however did not offer enough comfort to make longer trips. The Steeler NG 40 does offer the space to comfortably sail both domestic and foreign waters, even when the weather is a bit less friendly sometimes, such as during the early or late season. Over two seasons we have clocked 500 engine hours and covered a distance of nearly 5,000 km, in the Netherlands and Belgium for now. Our Steeler fully conforms to all our wishes.

The advantage of custom-built is that you can put lots of your own preferences and ideas into the project so you end up with a unique ship made entirely to your own taste, nearly without making any concessions, because that is what the standard prescribes.

In custom-built construction, you will be very closely involved in the construction process from the very first shipyard visit up to completion. It's not just about casually popping in to check progress from time to time, but about actually having a say in things on-site and making decisions at construction meetings. Your boating fun will start at the drawing table.

Custom-built means a very large degree of involvement in the construction process, so you personally get to know the whole Steeler team. We found that very positive, and it makes it very easy, even long after completion, to approach them with any issues that might arise.

From the day of completion of our Steeler NG 40 we have been getting countless admiring looks and compliments. On trips and in ports, people are eager to express their opinions about the ship and about our custom layout and interior, which only serves to confirm the choices that we made. Really nice!

Custom-built sometimes means experimenting with different layouts, new materials, different technical systems to make the boat truly our own. But it sometimes also leads to initial problems. However, all of those are resolved quickly, skilfully and in a very customer and service-oriented manner Love at first sight
READ MORE

“The Steeler Yachts build process and associated Project Management is an exemplary example to all other boat builders.”

~ Noel and Heather, NG40 ‘Seven7’

After 30 years of owning sailing yachts we (Noel and Heather Ingram) decided to drop sail and explore the inland waterways of the Netherlands. Our requirement was for a steel motor boat with a quality build comparable with that of our previous ocean going sailing yachts.

Also, we wanted to be able to impose our own ideas on the interior, so an agreed amount of customisation was a fundamental requirement. We had “dipped our toes” in the inland waterways of the Netherlands by purchasing a steel Dutch Aft Cabin Cruiser and now wanted to change to an aft cockpit cruiser with the saloon and cockpit on a single level. Our approach to yacht purchase is to do extensive research on suitable yachts based on a detailed list of requirements and then to reduce this to a shortlist of about six. This is the approach we were adapting when we looking for a new Dutch steel boat.

We were cruising from Geithoorn to Sneek when we passed some moored boats at Steenwijk. We were immediately attracted to the Steeler NG models we saw and doubled back for a closer look. They were certainly the nicest boats we had seen. We reduced our shortlist to two: a Jetten and a Steeler. Further research, a visit to Steeler Yachts and the Amsterdam Boat Show convinced us that a Steeler NG40 was the boat for us. Steeler Yachts was the most helpful of any boat builder we spoke to and honest about what we could achieve for our budget.

The final choice was easy because Steeler and their yachts stood head and shoulders above the rest of the competition.

We duly signed a Concept Construction Agreement for a Steeler NG40 in October 2013 for delivery in Spring 2015 and looked forward to getting involved in the interior design and customisation.

The build process was, as far as we were concerned, faultless and proceeded through the various stages according to the building plan. Regular visits were scheduled and updates and photographs supplied. Changes to the standard specification were suggested and agreed and the interior layout discussed during various visits to Steeler during the build. The knowledge and input of the Steeler team should not be under-estimated. All additional items were professionally researched by Steeler and the solutions excellent (e.g. selection, positioning and installation of Solar Panels). The Standard Specification is so extensive that very few extra items were required to satisfy our requirements list. The Steeler Yachts build process and associated Project Management is an exemplary example to all other boat builders.

We took delivery of our new Steeler NG 40, “Seven7”, during April 2015. The handover was just right and most enjoyable. Very few initial problems were encountered with the result we could sail the boat away almost immediately for our first cruise.

Our cruising to date has been mainly in Friesland and Overijssel. We use “Seven7” for holidays of 2/3 weeks duration, 3 or 4 times during the summer (April to October). We enjoy spending time on country moorings and our specification enables us to be free of shore facilities for extended periods.

Our experience so far has confirmed that we have selected the correct boat with an interior design that works well. We selected an engine upgrade to a Yanmar 6BY3 160hp and are more than pleased with the performance, reliability and frugal fuel consumption. We also installed Solar Panels in place of a sun roof and these enable all services to be used without the need for shore power. “Seven7” is an ideal size for the two of us to handle while still giving us all the creature comforts we want. The performance and handling is excellent and, together with the build quality, has more than lived up to our expectations.

The few problems that we have encountered have been resolved without question nor any expense to us. Early on we experienced a problem with the thrusters and these have been replaced with upgraded versions by Vetus. We have already enjoyed our time on “Seven7” and are looking forward to many more holidays and venturing further afield.

Steeler Yachts are the most professional and pleasant company we have ever been involved with. They have a philosophy of a “Partnership” rather than a “Client/Supplier” relationship and this results in a very satisfied customer and a superb boat designed to fit our requirements. This excellent attitude also filters down to their suppliers with the outcome of a well designed and engineered yacht.

The team at Steeler are very knowledgeable in what they do and their suggestions and recommendations will avoid any costly problems and design mistakes. This extends to everything, from choice of power unit to colour scheme and selection of soft furnishings.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Steeler Yachts to any potential boat owner and they should be top of a potential list of builders. Steeler Yachts are a special company producing a very special product.

“The greatest thing about it all is that during the building stage the team did everything they promised during the sales stage and more.”

~ Leo and Martine, NG43 ‘Mitsu’

After a disappointing collaboration with another Dutch yacht builder we decided - after all the time we'd lost - to buy a young pre-owned yacht. An advertisement for pre-owned boats led us to the Steeler. Much to our regret this boat had already been sold, but Hans and Niels still invited us to come and see the 'Steeler' shipyard.

The introduction was so different and personal that we decided on day one to do business with them. The entire process from September 2015 to July 2016 took the form of a superb collaborative effort with the entire Steeler team, with a special word of thanks to Niels and Isabel.Without wanting to sell anybody else short, a special word of thanks is due to carpenter Peter (who fitted so many extras) whose ideas often turned the impossible into the possible.

Our Steeler 43. Mitsu has turned out to be more than we ever thought possible. A yacht with superb sailing qualities but is also a great place to stay, even in bad weather.

From our very first day on the water many passers-by and other water sports enthusiasts stopped to admire our yacht and take photos. The greatest thing about it all is that during the building stage the team did everything they promised during the sales stage and more.

Thank you Hans, Niels, Isabel, Peter, Yorrith and everybody else at Steeler Yachts.
READ MORE

“To sail your own Steeler is like wearing a bespoke suit, it is built to fit you and your lifestyle”

~ Paul and Jackie, NG43 ‘Lavinia C’

Having seen the spectacular NG50 at the London boat show in 2012, we fell in love instantly, but assumed that a Steeler would be out of our price bracket. Only later did we realise that the NG43 could be built within our budget. After that there was no other choice.

The looks, quality, space and adaptability of the interior was beyond what we had been looking for.

The biggest issue with choosing our Steeler was deciding where to start, as the options were endless, we need not have feared as during our first visit to Holland the Steeler and Bushnells teams soon helped us to specify our dream boat that would suit our lifestyle and personal requirements, we were just amazed at how flexible and accommodating the team were.

We are now the proud owners of our lovely NG43 'Lavinia C', which sits at the end of our garden on the River Thames, it is used constantly during the summer and is admired wherever we go. The 900 KM journey from Steenwijk back to our home was one of the most memorable journeys of our lives; to bring 'Lavinia C' across the Chanel, into Ramsgate to collect her blue ensign and then travelling through London, past some of the most iconic landmarks in the world, was an experience we will remember forever. Since taking delivery, she has been a delight to sail and remains trouble free. To sail your own Steeler is like wearing a bespoke suit, it is built to fit you and your lifestyle, and you will sail her with pride and a permanent smile whilst others admire from afar.
READ MORE

“A few minor service points were handled and resolved quite effectively, therefore we haven't regretted our decision for a second”

~ Rene and Kitty, NG43 ‘Res Nova’

Having done thorough research, we bought a Steeler NG43 simply because we liked it best. We were very happy with the whole buying process and the construction of our boat. Our specific wishes with regard to the layout and wheelchair adaptation were executed to perfection. We have now used our boat for two seasons, and everything works exactly as we imagined. A few minor service points were handled and resolved quite effectively, therefore we haven't regretted our decision for a second
READ MORE

“We have used our Steeler for 5 seasons now, and we are still very proud of it. Wherever we go, in every lock where we moor, we still get compliments given and pictures taken”

~ Fam. Marsman, Ng43 Joly Deux

We chose to buy a Steeler due to its beautiful design, practical layout, low overall vessel height, and of course its value for money. And also its great navigational behaviour, but we didn't know about those when we purchased the boat, because we were the very first to have an NG43 built.

We have had our boat since 2011, and if we were to have one built now, it would be exactly the same boat, except it would have a planing aluminium design.

We are very satisfied with both the construction and the people at the shipyard, who have been very reliable and helpful, with a perfect service and warranty.

The ideas contributed and the custom design work, both before and during construction, were a pleasant surprise to us. We have used our Steeler for 5 seasons now, and we are still very proud of it.

Wherever we go, in every lock where we moor, we still get compliments given and pictures taken.
READ MORE

“I would like to specifically highlight the shipwright, Gerdo, who works magic with wood; the beauty he created was truly incredible!”

~ Drees and Margreet, Explorer 47 ‘Lambertus’

The decision to choose Steeler was really made because you have managed to make this tough but somehow nostalgic model into a really modern boat! And especially because you were open to our own sometimes quite stubborn ideas!

We were also pleased that the people at the shipyard didn't react negatively when we said that we wanted to have our new boat, the Lambertus, built only together with our own professional construction consultant, because of unpleasant experiences with the construction of our previous boat at a different shipyard.

Collaboration during construction was exceptional, especially as it was often possible to make changes at a very late stage! All builders of the ship seemed to us very skilled and eager to contribute ideas. Without forgetting the others of course, and being a parquet man myself, I would like to specifically highlight the shipwright, Gerdo, who works magic with wood; the beauty he created was truly incredible!

We were greatly pleased with the people at Steeler: they are a team where service and aftercare are still written with capital letters!

In the first year we sailed as far as Lauwersoog and Maastricht, and we have never gotten as many compliments as we did.

Sailing with this boat is something quite special in itself. Writing about it would consist only of superlatives: silent, manoeuvrable, relatively fast, and really incredibly comfortable! An apartment on the water!

We also love talking about our boat, so much in fact that we want to invite everyone who is interested in buying a boat like ours, and in our experiences with Steeler, to come and have a nice little chat on the water!
READ MORE

“We are already building our second yacht with Steeler. We think that says it all!”

~ George and Veronika, Explorer 50 Pilot House ‘Toja II’

Why Steeler:
• Offers custom-built yachts - interesting design
• our first impression of the shipyard and talks were very positive
• highly professional advice
• our own ideas could be incorporated
• great value for money
Experience with construction:
• pleasant cooperation
• competent experts
• available at any time
• Commitments were honoured
• Construction progress could be followed at all times
• high quality standards
• perfect financial processing
Summary:
We are already building our second yacht with Steeler. We think that says it all!
READ MORE

“A customer is and remains a customer for the shipyard, whether before or after a sale”

~ Ludo and Rita, Explorer 47 ‘Loonie’

Looking for a boat with classic lines, yet innovative ... that is what led us to the Explorer 47, a beautifully lined boat. The boat sails and feels comfortable. And, importantly, all questions are promptly and carefully answered by the Steeler team. A customer is and remains a customer for the shipyard, whether before or after a sale
READ MORE

“I've been working in the maritime sector for 28 years now, so I know exactly what our yacht should or shouldn't be. They understood that perfectly in Steenwijk!”

~ Peter and Diane, Panorama FF48 Offshore ‘Seven’

I'd been looking out for distinctive, innovative boat designs for many years, and in 2013 I came across a teaser for a Panorama. After that I carried on following the progress of Steeler, and all of a sudden there was a 'real' design of a steel Panorama 46.

I keenly followed the building of this yacht, and spent a full day on board during its presentation at Hiswa in 2014. I considered all the angles and mapped everything out and then gave it my own spin after discussing it with my wife. It's like buying a loft: the basic framework is there, but the possibilities within it are endless. From the beginning of September to the end of October I shifted the interior around and then my wife and I went to Steeler to talk about the options. After a few visits to Vripack we quickly made up our minds and signed the contract. This is our seventh "ship", counting from our first one, a 3.85 m Zodiac... Each one bigger than the last. From that point onwards there was a great deal of intensive and interactive communication between us. We set the bar high for our wishes and requirements, but realistically high. The result speaks for itself: a fast yacht that cuts through the water like a knife, which accelerates like a speed boat and on which even the most demanding guest has everything he could wish for. There is a more than complete galley on board and on deck, a sound system that would make an audiophile green with envy and an interior to take your breath away. The yacht is full of gadgets and is fully equipped with "home" automation and security: very useful, both on the water and when moored, and when no one is on board. The huge amount of space for a relatively small yacht is another real bonus. Not least because the gangways are above the living area rather than around it, you have the full width available, and that's something you notice as soon as you come on board. Steeler's own master carpenters did a fantastic job, and technically there's everything we could hope for too. The engine noise stays well within the set standard and the fuel consumption - at normal speed - is acceptable in every way. The collapsible antenna mast means that it's still possible to reach the Mediterranean by inland waterway. An end-product of this quality in what is a relatively small yacht is only possible if the communication between the shipyard and the client is optimal. And it was. And it still is. All of our questions were answered quickly and properly so that we were able to get on with making decisions about the next building activities.

It will go without saying that we're more than happy about our relationship with Steeler. I can recommend anyone who's considering having a yacht built to contact them.

I've been working in the maritime sector for 28 years now, so I know exactly what our yacht should or shouldn't be. They understood that perfectly in Steenwijk!

Thank you!
The proud owners of the first Panorama FF48 Offshore
READ MORE

“Customers have the freedom to have their personal preferences implemented”

~ Owner Panorama FF53 Offshore

We found the Steeler in a magazine, as it was the boat of the year.

I am the owner of a catamaran, and I wanted to have a single-hulled ship where liveability was the highest priority, which is an essential aspect for a catamaran, keeping in mind that French boat owners spend some 80% of their time moored at the quay.

Liveability means cosiness. The single-level layout expresses this very well: no steps in the living areas, so that your stay on board is highly comfortable even at sea. A boat full of light due to its large windows, which not only produces great views, but also fits in perfectly with the sleek interior.

Customers have the freedom to have their personal preferences implemented, not only as regards cabin layout but also in terms of the choice of materials (high-quality upholstery), hull colour, and the overall design of the boat. But also in terms of technical aspects, with an engine that fits the requirements of the customer. A boat that you can also stand clear with, which is very convenient with the large tidal ranges in our coastal areas.

I want my boat to express my own personality, and for there to be no other FF53 that looks like mine.
READ MORE

“ Its incredible economy at 10kms/hour was a miserly 3.3 litres of fuel. This certainly impressed me as did its straight line stability at slow speed.”

~ Peter and Sheilagh

My wife and I are now in our seventies, and have been sailors for most of our lives, having raced in dinghies, sport keel boats and now IRC cruisers. We have owned various motor boats for the past 20 years, of numerous designs, types and materials, and have cruised in the Mediterranean, then the English Channel, including the Channel Islands, Brittany, the southern ports of England , the Scilly Isles and regular visits to Holland. With approaching old age, we were trying to decide what to do in the future. Whether to retire altogether from sailing, or whether to consider downsizing, as our current boat is a 20m aluminium traditional offshore boat, and a bit of a challenge for us.
By a series of coincidences, my boat was sent to Holland to be repaired after damage caused by others. This was carried out by Steeler Yachts to the high standards of the original builder, and without any stress for myself. Whilst there, we had a look at their range of 10 to 15 m boats, as well as more traditional Dutch designs, but I fell for the design concept of the Panorama ff46. They informed us they intended to build a slightly larger version in aluminium, which I felt would suit us fine. Its single level approach, the gangways being above the living space, gave a far roomier interior than on boats with the normal side decks. The hull design is capable of cutting through the water at up to 35 knots if fitted with Volvo IPS 600s, and it would also meet the specification required for Category B.

My wife wasn’t a fan of the “straight stem”, as opposed to the normal bow, but I, as a sailor didn’t have a problem, as this sort of bow is used in most modern competitive sailing yachts to maximise water line and so maximise speed. The inside space of the Panorama ff53 is going have more room than in my current 70 feet motorboat, apart from in the owner’s cabin, but then we only sleep in there anyway!

By now we’d decided we were only as old as we felt, and there was still plenty of life in the old dogs yet! Hence we decided to progress the project and arranged a further meeting in mid- November. On arrival at the yard we were welcomed by Hans and Yorrith, introduced to other members of the team, and taken to their beautiful new “floating” office, adjacent to the factory, after going for a short evening cruise down the local canal on the finished ff46. This boat was of course constructed in steel and therefore weighs considerably more than our planned 53 will. Its incredible economy at 10kms/hour was a miserly 3.3 litres of fuel. This certainly impressed me as did its straight line stability at slow speed. Its manouverability under two engines, without having to use thrusters, was another plus in its favour. As the discussions progressed we were introduced to the design consultant from Vripack, who was most helpful in drawing the suggested interior layouts so my wife could visualise the proposals. The pooling of ideas with very little constraints pre-order was so unlike any other boat manufacturer we had dealt with. In our fibreglass boats we only had a choice of upholstery, curtains and carpets due to the monocoque construction, so further to this meeting we agreed to place an order for the Panorama ff 53 in aluminium. This was the biggest in this range and we felt the extra waterline length, the reduction in weight and the larger accommodation would give us a boat ideal for our needs, and hopefully be of value to others in the future when we decide to retire from boating.

Following the signing of the contract we were issued a build schedule detailing the stages of the 38 week programme. This was split into 12 items, from agreeing the contract, through to delivery and completion. Stage 3 requires a site visit to choose the materials for the interior. Whilst it is being constructed we are expected to visit twice more, after which no further changes can be made. A final meeting at Stage 9 ensures that everything agreed has been carried out. All these things in writing will avoid any misunderstanding between us and the shipyard, and again was a new phenomenon to us. Steeler even lay out the interior on the floor prior to installation!

We have recently visited Dusseldorf Boat Show where Steeler won European Boat of the Year for a second time, which obviously gave us extra reassurance and confidence. Whilst there I had meetings with various engine manufacturers. It seems likely we will go with Yanmar LY440’s with joystick controls. We also met with Yacht Control to learn of their services on an integrated communication and navigation package, and our now awaiting their proposals and costings. Shortly work will commence on the cutting programme of the aluminium and the forming of the hull.

This is the start of a fresh adventure which hopefully will result in the stress free completion of our new boat for the 2017 season, and the start of lots of enjoyable experiences.
READ MORE

“ Its incredible economy at 10kms/hour was a miserly 3.3 litres of fuel. This certainly impressed me as did its straight line stability at slow speed.”

~ Peter and Sheilagh

My wife and I are now in our seventies, and have been sailors for most of our lives, having raced in dinghies, sport keel boats and now IRC cruisers. We have owned various motor boats for the past 20 years, of numerous designs, types and materials, and have cruised in the Mediterranean, then the English Channel, including the Channel Islands, Brittany, the southern ports of England , the Scilly Isles and regular visits to Holland. With approaching old age, we were trying to decide what to do in the future. Whether to retire altogether from sailing, or whether to consider downsizing, as our current boat is a 20m aluminium traditional offshore boat, and a bit of a challenge for us.
By a series of coincidences, my boat was sent to Holland to be repaired after damage caused by others. This was carried out by Steeler Yachts to the high standards of the original builder, and without any stress for myself. Whilst there, we had a look at their range of 10 to 15 m boats, as well as more traditional Dutch designs, but I fell for the design concept of the Panorama ff46. They informed us they intended to build a slightly larger version in aluminium, which I felt would suit us fine. Its single level approach, the gangways being above the living space, gave a far roomier interior than on boats with the normal side decks. The hull design is capable of cutting through the water at up to 35 knots if fitted with Volvo IPS 600s, and it would also meet the specification required for Category B.

My wife wasn’t a fan of the “straight stem”, as opposed to the normal bow, but I, as a sailor didn’t have a problem, as this sort of bow is used in most modern competitive sailing yachts to maximise water line and so maximise speed. The inside space of the Panorama ff53 is going have more room than in my current 70 feet motorboat, apart from in the owner’s cabin, but then we only sleep in there anyway!

By now we’d decided we were only as old as we felt, and there was still plenty of life in the old dogs yet! Hence we decided to progress the project and arranged a further meeting in mid- November. On arrival at the yard we were welcomed by Hans and Yorrith, introduced to other members of the team, and taken to their beautiful new “floating” office, adjacent to the factory, after going for a short evening cruise down the local canal on the finished ff46. This boat was of course constructed in steel and therefore weighs considerably more than our planned 53 will. Its incredible economy at 10kms/hour was a miserly 3.3 litres of fuel. This certainly impressed me as did its straight line stability at slow speed. Its manouverability under two engines, without having to use thrusters, was another plus in its favour. As the discussions progressed we were introduced to the design consultant from Vripack, who was most helpful in drawing the suggested interior layouts so my wife could visualise the proposals. The pooling of ideas with very little constraints pre-order was so unlike any other boat manufacturer we had dealt with. In our fibreglass boats we only had a choice of upholstery, curtains and carpets due to the monocoque construction, so further to this meeting we agreed to place an order for the Panorama ff 53 in aluminium. This was the biggest in this range and we felt the extra waterline length, the reduction in weight and the larger accommodation would give us a boat ideal for our needs, and hopefully be of value to others in the future when we decide to retire from boating.

Following the signing of the contract we were issued a build schedule detailing the stages of the 38 week programme. This was split into 12 items, from agreeing the contract, through to delivery and completion. Stage 3 requires a site visit to choose the materials for the interior. Whilst it is being constructed we are expected to visit twice more, after which no further changes can be made. A final meeting at Stage 9 ensures that everything agreed has been carried out. All these things in writing will avoid any misunderstanding between us and the shipyard, and again was a new phenomenon to us. Steeler even lay out the interior on the floor prior to installation!

We have recently visited Dusseldorf Boat Show where Steeler won European Boat of the Year for a second time, which obviously gave us extra reassurance and confidence. Whilst there I had meetings with various engine manufacturers. It seems likely we will go with Yanmar LY440’s with joystick controls. We also met with Yacht Control to learn of their services on an integrated communication and navigation package, and our now awaiting their proposals and costings. Shortly work will commence on the cutting programme of the aluminium and the forming of the hull.

This is the start of a fresh adventure which hopefully will result in the stress free completion of our new boat for the 2017 season, and the start of lots of enjoyable experiences.
READ MORE